Upcoming colloquia

2016-05-31     17:15
Astronomical Colloquium
Speaker: Bernadetta Ciardi (MPI Astrophys., Garching)
Title: Cosmic Reionization: Theoretical Modeling and Challenging Observations
Philosophenweg 12

2016-06-02     11:15
ARI Institute Colloquium
Speaker: Sabine Reffert (LSW)
Title: Looking for Exoplanets around Giant Stars: the Past and the Future
Seminar room of the ARI

2016-06-07     17:15
Astronomical Colloquium
Speaker: Simona Vegetti (MPI Astrophys., Garching)
Title: Gravitationally imaging dark matter with strong gravitational lensing
Philosophenweg 12

Recent publications

Moetazedian, R., Just, A.
Impact of cosmological satellites on the vertical heating of the Milky Way disc
MNRAS 459, 2905 (2016)

Fischer, D.A., Anglada-Escude, G., ..., Qurrenbach, A., ...
State of the Field: Extreme Precision Radial Velocities
PASP 128, 066001 (2016)

Acharya, B..S., Aramo, C., ..., Kaufmann, S., ...
The Cherenkov Telescope Array potential for the study of young supernova remnants
APh 62, 152 (2015)

Zentrum für Astronomie

Zentrum für Astronomie der Universität Heidelberg

The Zentrum für Astronomie der Universität Heidelberg (ZAH) is the largest university astronomy group within Germany. The ZAH was established in 2005 by joining the former state institutes Astronomisches Rechen-Institut (ARI) and Landessternwarte Königstuhl (LSW) with the Institut für Theoretische Astrophysik (ITA) of Heidelberg University. [more]


Very Sharp and Very Good: Successful Test for the Astronomical Measuring Instrument LUCI

Heidelberg researchers played a key role in design and construction of this instrument. Observation at the world’s largest single telescope record astronomical images and spectra in the infrared with outstanding quality. (April 26, 2016)

New video on the Gaia mission published: “Gaia – Teamwork for a billion stars”.

The documentation by Klaus Jäger (MPIA) and Stefan Jordan (ARI/ZAH) explains the main goals of the Gaia mission and contains interviews and statements from several scientists directly involved in the analysis of the Gaia data. (April 25, 2016)

Planetary Striptease

An international team of astronomers coordinated by Mia Lundkvist from the Landessternwarte Königstuhl (LSW) has shown that the atmospheres of super-Earths are blown away by radiation from their host stars. (April 15, 2016)

Among most highly cited researchers 2016 worldwide: Volker Springel

Highly Cited Researchers 2016 represents the world’s most cited scientific minds. In the category "Space Science", Prof. Volker Springel (HITS and ZAH/ARI) earned this distinction and was the second time after 2014 ranked among the top 1% most cited for their subject field. (April 1, 2016)

Astronomische Grundlagen für den Kalender 2018 veröffentlicht

Die Kalendergrundlagen für das Jahr 2018 sind jetzt erschienen. Sie sind ausschließlich über "Der Kleine Buch Verlag" zu beziehen. (30.03.2016)

A Hitchhiker's Guide through the Gaia Galaxy

The Gaia group at ARI offers a two-day Workshop on April 4-5, 2016 to efficiently access data of the upcoming first Gaia data release 1 in late summer. (March 22, 2016)

Editor: Webmaster
zum Seitenanfang/up